Friday, 31 August 2012

Promotion: Fractured Into Being by Eric Easly

Fractured Into Being
By Eric Easly

The Drake is an interstellar hibernation vessel launched by NATO to colonize Kepler 10, and from the start, Dr. Fran Arway has resented the military's involvement. With reluctance she agrees to help Lt. Col. Henry Banks jury-rig his scout ship, the Draconian Measures, for a dangerous launch at 0.7 light speed. But while Banks and Arway deal with each other and the dangers they anticipate, an unknown and deadlier evil awaits.

Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Author Interview: Eric Easly

Eric Easly has written Fractured Into Being.

1. What is your name and where do you call home? 
My name is Eric Easly and home is Atlanta Georgia, in the U.S. of A.

2. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say? 

It is Fractured into Being, a science fiction novel that is “A terrifying skid through space as the book’s protagonists jump out of the pan only to land in the fire.”

3. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book? 

I did the cover myself, meaning, I bought an image representing the essence of the book and doctored the picture a bit before adding the title. The cover is a woman facing a human body that is covered in electronic circuits with a space backdrop. Once you read the book this will make sense to you.

4. How did you come up with the title for your book? 

The book’s working title was The Draconian Measures, but when I finished, I felt it needed something a bit more poetic and Fractured into Being sort of popped into my head. The title describes what happens in the book on a number of levels, both personally for the main characters and more broadly for the human race.

5. What books have made it onto your wishlist recently? And why? 

I already have a stack of short story anthologies (F. Scott Fitzgerald, Glimmer Train, The Best American Short Stories, etc.) that I haven't had time to read so I’m not wishing for anything else at present.  ;)

6. Where can your readers follow you?


Facebook page: facebook.com/AuthorEricEasly


Goodreads author page: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6449435.Eric_Easly


Twitter: @EricEasly


Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B008QLZF2I


Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Thursday, 30 August 2012

Initiation by Imogen Rose

ISBN: 9780982800256
Publisher: Self / Indie
Pages: 412

Welcome to Bonfire Academy. Set in the foothills of the alpine mountains in St.Moritz, this exclusive private school caters to a special kind of student. Enter at your own risk... but if you are human, you may not want to enter at all.

I received Initiation by Imogen Rose for review from Imogen Rose & Allison Potter. Although, I really enjoyed reading Initiation, I found that the language used was quite simple, compared to the complexity of the plot. I liked reading about the different “Paranormals” that attended Bonfire Academy, and the different rules each Paranormal faction / community had to follow as well, however my favourite part was reading about the London and New York “Paranormal Councils”. My favourite character was Faustine, mainly because of her naivety, but also because of her unusual heritage, which makes her time at Bonfire Academy all the more interesting! I really like the cover of Initiation! The sharp, contrasting tones on the cover image portray the dark, supernatural elements within the book well.

Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Wednesday, 29 August 2012

Promotion: The Necromancer's Apprentice by R.M. Prioleau

The Necromancer's Apprentice 
By R.M. Prioleau

Jasmine Na'Darod lived a simple life with her parents and older sister on the family’s farm. She never strayed far from home until the ill-fated Blood Moon arose, basking the country of Caristan with a terrible, sickening drought.

When her mother falls ill, Jasmine and her family are forced to leave home in desperate search of a cure. During their journey, a series of tragic events will change Jasmine's life forever.

With her former life shrouded and forgotten, Jasmine embraces a new path granted by an unlikely stranger, who, ironically, practices the Art of death and undeath.

As Jasmine is drawn to this enigma of a man, she soon realizes there is more to him than what she initially perceived — his true motives are beyond anything she could ever imagine…


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Promotion: Firebrand by R.M. Prioleau

Firebrand
By R.M. Prioleau

Firebrand is the first book in The Pyromancer Trilogy.

Kaijin Sora behaved like any studious child his age who constantly indulged in reading books and thirsting for new knowledge. But there was one thing that distinguished him from other children -- his tenacious passion for fire.

In hopes of curbing this strange and disturbing sickness, Kaijin's parents send him off to study magic. Unbeknownst to Kaijin, the knowledge he would glean during his years of intense study would only further kindle his inner flames.

What began as a simple childhood curiosity would ultimately transition into a blazing love so powerful, it kills...


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Author Interview: R.M. Prioleau

R.M. Prioleau has written Firebrand and The Necromancer's Apprentice.

1. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say? 
My most recent book is a YA epic fantasy called "Firebrand". A young man with an usual passion is sent on a journey in which he must learn about his purpose.

2. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series? 
Firebrand is book 1 of my first-ever trilogy. Book 2 is slated to be released fall 2012.

3. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing? 
I've always written stories since I first learned to write as a child. My main inspirations include: Brent Weeks, Margaret Weis, Tracy Hickman, and Amanda Hocking.

4. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book? 
The cover came to me as I was writing "Firebrand". I worked closely with artist Sarah Ellerton (author/artist of the Phoenix Requiem graphic novel series) by creating a mock-up of how I envisioned the cover, and she worked her magic.

5. Which is your favourite cover of all the books you have written?
My favorite cover this far is from "The Necromancer's Apprentice", which is my debut gothic fantasy novella. Sarah captured the setting and character exactly how I envisioned.

6. Is there anything you would change about your book covers?
Nothing at all! I think these covers are original, and many people seem very intrigued to read my book based on the covers alone.

7. How did you come up with the title for your book?
I liked the name "Firebrand" which practically explained the main aspect of the book itself. All of the titles in the trilogy have hidden meanings that explain something about the book (or the trilogy as a whole)

8. Is there anything you would change about your book? And why?
There is always going to be something I would want to change about "Firebrand" (like characters, plot, grammar), because I'm always learning something new as a writer. I love when someone reviews "Firebrand", whether positive or negative. I've learned so much from reader feedback, and I would love to apply them to "The Necromancer's Apprentice" as well..

9. Do you have a book trailer? And what are your thoughts on book trailers?
I don't currently have a book trailer, but it's something I would like to do in the near future. I would like to do a live-action one with actors and all the bells and whistles and make it more movie-like. I love watching book trailers, and I even created a board on my Pinterest to showcase some of my favorites. Some of the trailers had enticed me to read the book. I think book trailers are an excellent way to market your book. To get a professionally-looking one can be very costly, however.

10. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
I love them all! I guess if I had a choice, I would say paperback. There's nothing like the feel of a physical page between your fingers, and that 'new book smell' :)

11. Are you a self-published / Indie author?
I would have to say both? :) I am an indie author who has self-published my books. I do all the marketing, formatting, and anything else that requires a book to get from rough draft to finished product. 

12. Have you ever read a book just based on its cover?
Certainly. I think we all have. One of the main reasons why it's essential to have an eye-catching cover. It is also why I pride myself of having the best cover I can envision for my books.

13. Has the quality of the cover of a book ever put you off of reading it?
Sometimes it does, but I've found that some of the most simple-looking, non-appealing covers have turned out to contain some great stories inside. Similarly, I've seen many awesome covers have stories that didn't appeal to me. "Never judge a book by its cover" is certainly true!

14. What is your favourite film based on a book?
The Mists of Avalon

15. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
You're never too old or young to write. If you have a story to tell, then tell it. The only one stopping you from writing is you. Make some time every day -- whether 5 minutes or 15 minutes -- and write about anything and everything. It could be a great story in the making. I also encourage writers to participate in writing challenges like National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). It's a fun way to keep you motivated to write. The best advice I heard was "write your story -- not someone else's".

16. Do you have any hobbies that aren’t related to reading & writing?
When I'm not writing, I'm programming and developing videogames. I've been a computer geek since childhood.

17. Where can your readers follow you? 

In addition to my website, readers can find me on various social media like Facebook and Twitter. I am also quite active in writing communities like NaNoWriMo, Kindleboards, and Critique Circle.









Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Tuesday, 28 August 2012

Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry

ISBN: 9781848450776
Publisher: Mira Ink
Pages: 392

One bad boy.

One lost girl.

They’re each other’s destiny. . .

So wrong for each other...and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible. Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

I received an ARC of Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry for review from Mira Ink, which I thoroughly enjoyed reading! Normally, I don’t particularly enjoy reading books where the perspective alternates between two characters, but I really liked reading from both Noah’s and Echo’s point of view. My favourite characters were Echo and Noah, as despite their differing personalities and lives, they both in turn help each another to cope with their dilemmas. I also picked Echo & Noah as my favourites characters because I enjoyed reading their initial reactions to not only each other but also each other’s lifestyles. I’m not very fond of the UK cover of Pushing The Limits, as I don’t like the art style, but I think it represents the story within well.

Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Monday, 27 August 2012

Promotion: Being Human by Patricia Lynne

Being Human
By Patricia Lynne

For Tommy, there is only one thing he needs to do: survive. 

Only surviving isn't that easy. The hunt for blood can be tricky when humans know to fear the night. Desire sits on the edge of his mind, urging him to become the monster humans think he is. Vampire Forces, a special branch of police, is determined to turn every vampire to ash. Tommy included.

The only human Tommy can trust is his twin brother. A bond connects them, and with Danny's help, Tommy starts to understand the human world he struggles to survive in. He'll learn what friendships means and feel the sting of betrayal, find that sometimes the worst monsters are very human, and come to understand that family means more than blood.

Tommy just wants to survive and he knows what he needs to do. But with the number of humans that mean more to him than a meal growing, he'll learn there's more to life than simple survival. He'll discover being human doesn't mean being a human.


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Author Interview: Patricia Lynne

Patricia Lynne has written Being Human and Snapshots.


1. What is your name and where do you call home?
My name is Patricia, but you can call me Patty. Never with an I though. I live in Upper Michigan along Lake Michigan with my husband.

2. Do you have a pen name?
Kinda-sorta. On my books it says Patricia Lynne. That's my first and middle name. When I started writing I knew my hubby and I would be getting married and my last name would change. But my first and middle wouldn't.

3. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?
My recent release is called Snapshots. 20 words or less... Let's see if I can do this. Writers have a lovely ability to crank out words, but as soon as you ask them to summarize something, we get a glazed look in our eyes and go, Huh?

Cyc can see the future in your eyes, but his own future lies in his past.

4. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
I have a few books I'd like to eventually published. The one I'm currently working on is the sequel to Being Human. It's called Being Vampire, but it's not a direct sequel. It has cross over characters, but I think you could read either one on its own. While I love reading series, they annoy me because of the wait for the next book. I think that annoyance keeps me from coming up with book ideas that would be series.

5. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing?
I started writing just for fun. I always have trouble falling asleep at night, so I'd let my imagination wander and think up stories. One day, I decided to write one down. After that, I had a dream that I thought would be an interesting story (minus the cast of True Blood since they were in the dream.) It spiralled out of control after that and here I am four years later.

6. Do you gift books to readers for book reviews?
Yup. All you have to do is ask. Or if I find you and think my book might interest you, I'll ask.

7. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book?
I am horrible with Photoshop and Gimp so I hired Keary Taylor to do my cover. Her work is beautiful and very affordable.

8. Which is your favourite cover of all the books you have written?
So far, I only have 3 (4 if you count the second short story I haven't released yet.) Being Human is my favorite because it's my first book, making it my baby, and Keary did an amazing job.

9. Is there anything you would change about your book covers?
No way. When Keary sent me the mock up of Being Human, I squeed and spazzed out. I loved it. Then when she sent me the mock up to Snapshots, I squeed and spazzed out again. Needless to say, I love Keary's work.

10. Would you have different book covers for different countries?
I was approached by a Turkish publisher for rights for Being Human and I'm pretty sure they did a different cover... sorta. It's the same cover I have now, but friends and I are pretty certain it's a different model. What do you think?

11. How did you come up with the title for your book?
Titles are tricky so any title I get for my stories are strokes of luck/genius that I believe sap my creative juices for a few days and nothing gets done while I recharge.

12. Is there anything you would change about your book? And why?
Nope. I'm happy with how it turned out.

13. Do you have a book trailer? And what are your thoughts on book trailers?
Yes, I have a few book trailers. I LOVE making them. At first, I was resistant and tried to get a friend to do it for me, but he refused so I had to suck it up and do it myself. Ended up really enjoying the process and decided to offer myself to others if they wanted a book trailer. Strangely, I'm not too big on watching them. Only seen a few I liked.

14. What is your opinion on ARCs?
I enjoy ARCs. Always nice to read something before everyone else. With my second book, Snapshots, I tried to have eARCs for a book tour, but I ended up being so paranoid about it and decided I'm too neurotic to do it with my next book.

15. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
I like e-books and paperbacks. The only audiobook I've listened to was for Harry Potter and the narrator doing Hermione's voice annoyed me. Hardcovers are nice but the slip cover always annoys me and gets ruined.

16. Are you a self-published / Indie author?
I'm a self-published author, but I also call myself an Indie. I know some people keep the two terms separate, but I see self-publish as a type of Indie. Indie for me is anyone who goes independent of the major publishers. That can be with a smaller press or on your own. I don't argue with someone who has a different opinion.

17. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it?
Harry Potter is the only series that I've reread books. I keep my favorites incase I want to reread, but with so many new books I never get a chance.

18. Have you ever bought a specific edition of a book because of it’s cover? (For example a UK, US or Canadian version)
I'm working on getting the entire Harry Potter UK version. Not because of the cover though but because of the British slang on the inside.

19. Have you ever read a book just based on it’s cover?
I bought Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series because the shiny covers caught my attention. In the end I didn't read them. Started the first one, but put it down and never picked it back up.

20. Has the quality of the cover of a book ever put you off of reading it?
Yes. A cover is the first impression and if it's not good then I'm leery of how the inside will be.

21. What is your favourite film based on a book?
Does Scott Pilgrim Vs the World count because it's based on a comic book?

22. What is your favourite book genre at the moment?
I'm a big paranormal fan all the time. You can always get me to pick up a paranormal book.

23. What books have made it onto your wishlist recently? And why?
I'm always adding books to my wishlist and then instantly forgetting about them. I'm so horrible like that, but if the blurb perks my interest I add it. No idea if later on I will actually get the book.

24. What book are you reading at the moment? And in what format?
Sadly, I'm not reading anything but I need to start Wintergirls by Laurie H. Anderson.

25. If you could invite any four celebrities (alive or dead) to your dinner party, who would you invite and why? 
If we count Green Day as one person, then Green Day, Johnny Depp, Morgan Freeman and Angelina Jolie. If we count Green Day as three people then Green Day and Johnny Depp. No reason other than I highly enjoy these celebrities (Okay, I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE Green Day) and would fangirl meeting them.

26. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
I know it's tough, but be patient. Work on improving your writing ability and putting out the best story you can. No matter what route you choose, do the best you can.
Best advice I've gotten is to relax. I have a bad habit of thinking of everything I need to do and it overwhelms me. My writing always stalls when this happens and I have to remember to stop, relax and breath.

27. Do you have any hobbies that aren’t related to reading & writing?
I love to knit and make handmade jewelry that I sell locally.

28. Where can your readers follow you?








Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Sunday, 26 August 2012

Promotion: The Farm by Emily McKay

The Farm
By Emily McKay

Life was different in the Before: before the Ticks began devouring humans in a deadly swarm across America; before the surviving young people were rounded up and quarantined “for their own protection.” These days, we know what those quarantines are—holding pens where human blood is turned into more food for the Ticks. Surrounded by electrical fences, most kids try to survive the Farms by turning on each other…

And when trust is a thing of the past, escape is nearly impossible.

Lily and her twin sister Mel have a plan. Though Mel can barely communicate, her autism helps her notice things no one else notices—like the portion of electrical fence that gets turned off every night. Getting across won’t be easy, but as Lily gathers what they need to escape, a familiar face appears out of nowhere, offering to help…

Carter was a schoolmate of Lily’s in the Before. Managing to evade capture until now, he has valuable knowledge of the outside world. But like everyone on the Farm, Carter has his own agenda, and he knows that behind the Ticks is an even more dangerous threat to the human race...


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Friday, 24 August 2012

Promotion: Zeus, Inc. by Robin Burks

Zeus, Inc.
By Robin Burks

50 years ago, Zeus, Inc., and its CEO, the mysterious Joseph Brentwood, saved the world from a major energy crisis by discovering a new unlimited energy resource. Now, in 2065, Mr. Brentwood has gone missing and private eye Alex Grosjean has been hired to find him by his daughter (and Alex's best friend), Aleisha.

Black-outs begin to occur all over the world and somehow Alex believes it's tied to Mr. Brentwood's disappearance. Her search leads her through her own murky past and into the depths of Hell itself, where she discovers that Mr. Brentwood is not who or what he seems to be.

With the help of an otherworldly man named Pip, Alex must save both Mr. Brentwood and the world. But will she be able to face her own guilty past in order to do it?


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Author Interview: Robin Burks

Robin Burks has written Zeus, Inc.


1. What is your name and where do you call home?
I am Robin Burks and I am from Hayti, Missouri. Of course, when I'm in Paris, I pretend that's my home. It's so much more glamorous!

2. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?
The name of my book is Zeus, Inc. To sum it up, it's about a private detective in the year 2069 who has been hired to find Joseph Brentwood, the CEO of a mysterious company called Zeus, Inc. It's a cross-genre novel, encompassing a little sci fi, supernatural and fantasy.

3. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
I am currently writing the first of a science fiction trilogy called The Book of Revelations. Zeus, Inc., though is also part of a series called The Alex Grosjean Adventures. I think the follow-up just might features vampires, but in a way we haven't really seen them before.

4. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing?
I never considered myself a writer, although I've been writing for as long as I can remember. In high school, I wrote quite a bit and did so in college, as well. But I never considered writing a novel until recently. A friend of mine talked me into NaNoWriMo and that really gave me the kick in the pants that I needed to believe that I could be a writer.

5. Do you gift books to readers for book reviews? 
Yes, I do, occasionally.

6. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of the book?
I designed the cover myself. Fortunately, I am also a freelance web and graphic designer. And I felt that only I would be able to come up with what I felt was a good representation of the book. For me, that was featuring the main character, Alex Grosjean, front and center, as this really is her story. I had an idea in my mind of what she looked like and scoured a lot of stock photography sites until I found the perfect model. The background is actually a shot of Memphis, TN, that I took a few years ago - Memphis is where the novel takes place.

7. How did you come up with the title for your book?
Interestingly enough, the title came before the book. I had a very strange dream and in it, the company was called Zeus, Inc. And this dream sparked the entire story.

8. What is your opinion on ARC's?
I think ARC's are vital, especially for self-published authors like myself. Getting that initial feedback (as well as being able to catch editing things you might have missed) is extremely helpful. 

9. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
I am an e-book reader. It's funny because I always swore that actual physical books could never be replaced. But then I saw a demonstration of a Nook and immediately realized that it was the best thing ever invented for the avid reader. I can now carry thousands of books without breaking my back. I am always reading and that makes it very convenient. As a writer, I choose to go with e-books as it's obviously much easier to publish.

10. Are you a self-published/indie author?
Yes. For me, it was important just to get my story out there as quickly as possible.

11. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so, what was it?
There are several books I've read multiple times. I think I've read the entire The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy series at least a dozen times, I've also read many of Guy Gavriel Kay's books multiple times and I've read Stephen King's "The Stand" at least three times. 

12. What is your favorite film based on a book?
I'm going to have to go with the entire Harry Potter series. I love both the books and the films. Although much was left out in the movies, I still felt they were a good representation of what J.K. Rowling wrote.

13. What books have made it onto your wishlist recently? And why?
The only book I'm really looking to read as soon as I get caught up on all the others I'm reading is "Odd Apocalypse" by Dean Koontz. I just love the Odd Thomas series that he writes.

14. What book are you reading at the moment? And in what format?
I am currently reading a few different books. I'm reading an ARC of The Kirkwood Project by Andrew Sturm. I'm also getting caught up on the Locke & Key comics. And I'm reading Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver, which is the sequel to Delirium. 

15. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
My best advice would be just to write. I know a lot of writers that talk a lot about writing, but I still haven't seen any work that they've done. It's important to write and get it out there and let others read what you've done. But the best advice that was ever given to me was more of a statement: "If you write, you're a writer." I owe that to James Moran.

16. Do you have any hobbies that aren't related to reading and writing?
I am involved with a local community theatre group and I have been known to be obsessed with Doctor Who. 

17. Where can your readers follow you?









Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Wednesday, 22 August 2012

Giveaway: Stork by Wendy Delsol ~ Winner!


The winner of Stork by Wendy Delsol is . . .

Rogier 


Promotion: The Corpse Goddess by Kristi Jones

The Corpse Goddess 
By Kristi Jones


Party girl Meg Highbury wakes up the morning after her twenty-first birthday with one hell of a hangover—and a walking corpse in her apartment. Meg turns to her straight-laced neighbor Armando for help, and together they discover that Meg is a Valkyrie. What’s more, her first duty is to trade places with the corpse. 

But Meg is being sent to her Death Duty too soon. In a race against time, Meg frantically tries to find a loophole to avoid her gruesome fate, but while Meg is determined to live whatever the cost, Armando's strict moral principles keep getting in the way of her plans for escape. 



Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Author Interview: Kristi Jones

Kristi Jones has written The Corpse Goddess.

1. What is your name and where do you call home?
My name is Kristi Jones and I live in a suburb outside of Houston, Texas

2. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?
My debut novel, The Corpse Goddess, is about a young Valkyire struggling to escape the Death Duty, which requires that she become a walking corpse.

3. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Yes, I’m working on book two of The Corpse Goddess now. Meg’s duties as a Valkyrie have just begun!

4. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing?
I’ve been writing for so long, I’m not sure I can say what inspired me to start. I wrote my first poem when I was six years old. I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I’ve been writing novels for about thirteen years! I guess I’m a slow learner...and thirteen must be my lucky number!

5. Do you gift books to readers for book reviews?
Yes, absolutely!

6. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book?
I have to say, I just love my cover! It was done by Sour Cherry Designs and they did a magnificent job!

7. Is there anything you would change about your book? And why?
Well, I’m a perfectionist. My internal editor doesn’t whisper, she shouts! So I’m the kind of writer who can always find something to change, to perfect, but at some point you have to let your baby go and move on to the next one.

8. Do you have a book trailer? And what are your thoughts on book trailers?
I don’t have one yet, but would love to make one. They look like so much fun!

9. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
I love them all. I didn’t think I would like an e-reader. I love the weight of a book, turning the pages, the feel of the paper. But after reading Stephen King’s Under the Dome, my wrists actually ached so my husband bought me a Nook. Now I can hold my Nook in one hand and stir spaghetti sauce with the other...perfection!

10. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it?
Oh, all the time! Most recently I re-read Pride and Prejudice, Salem’s Lot and The Mistress of Mellyn.

11. What book are you reading at the moment? And in what format?
I’m re-reading Stephen King’s The Stand in old paperback and Rhiannon Frater’s The First Days in ebook.

12. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
The very best advice I’ve gotten comes from James Scott Bell. We were talking after a seminar and I was saying something about being inspired, that I wanted to lock myself in a room and just write. He looked at me, really looked at me and said, “Do it. Go do it right now.”
We can talk about writing and read about writing, but ultimately you have to stop talking and just sit down and do it. My advice, for what it’s worth, is to write. Write all day long if you can.

13. Where can your readers follow you?




Twitter: @authorkristi

Amazon:




Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Tuesday, 21 August 2012

The Clever One by Helena Close

ISBN: 9780340920206
Publisher: Hachette
Pages: 314

I've always been 'the clever one'. So clever that I got 10 As in my Junior Cert. So clever that everyone knows I'm destined for great things. But my family chooses to ignore how clever I am when I tell them that all this is going to end badly.
'This' being my sister Fiona's announcement that she is having a baby (father: Big; occupation: shady scumbag). At first, I swore I wouldn't help her. After all, if she wants to be a pramface, that's her problem. But I didn't realise how much I'd love baby Harvey, and want to do everything in my power to protect him.
Mam is doing her usual act of pretending everything's fine. My brother Cian is in a world of his own. My shiny happy best friend Mark thinks I should stay out of it.
But I can't. So I try to figure out a way to get Big out of our lives for good. And once my plan is in motion, I can't go back. No matter how much I sometimes want to.

Although, I enjoyed Helena Close’s writing style, to be honest, I found The Clever One to be a bit odd. The mood of the book would sometimes change quickly, and quite a lot of the speech was hard to understand mostly due to how words & phrases were shortened to portray the characters’ accents. At the beginning of The Clever One my favourite character was Maeve, this was probably because the majority of the book was from Maeve’s perspective, however as I got further into The Clever One, I began to like her less and less. I like the cover of The Clever One as it represents Maeve well in the image and the bright, vivid colours give it a more youthful, light-hearted look, but apart from that the cover is quite plain really, and doesn’t noticeably portray anything else within this book.

Available at Amazon.com & Amazon.co.uk.

Monday, 20 August 2012

Promotion: Project ELE by Rebecca Gober & Courtney Nuckels

Project ELE
By Rebecca Gober & Courtney Nuckels

Millions have already died, and thousands more are perishing daily. As a last ditch effort to preserve the human race, the government implements Project ELE. With the earth heating at rapid speeds, all remaining survivors are forced to turn to F.E.M.A. shelters to wait out ELE's wrath. 

Fifteen-year-old Willow Mosby's life, as she knows it, ends the moment she walks through the shelter's door. Willow has to quickly adapt to the new challenges that shelter life demands, the least of which includes making new friends and working a full time job.

Soon after making an interesting discovery, Willow and her friends start exhibiting strange abilities. Seeking answers, they embark on a mission to find out what these new abilities mean and whether they are a gift or a curse. 

This new adventure can send her world crashing down around her. The question is: Can Willow survive the fall?


Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Author Interview: Rebecca Gober & Courtney Nuckels

Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels have written Night Marchers, Redemption and Project ELE.

1. What is your name and where do you call home?
Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels and we both live in Dallas, Texas. (No, we don't have big hair, but we do obsessively use the word y'all. LOL!)

2. Do you have a pen name?
We considered this, however we chose to use our real names.

3. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?
Project ELE is an apocalyptic novel with a paranormal twist. It's unique, not your average dystopian, romantic, funny and emotional.

4. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Most definitely! We are in the process of writing our second book in the ELE Series, which we hope to release in November 2012.

5. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing? 
Our enthusiastic love for reading is what inspired us to write. Amanda Hocking and Addison Moore are who inspired us to go the independent publishing route. We've been writing since June of 2011.

6. Do you gift books to readers for book reviews?
Yes! Being Indie authors, our trade thrives on reviews from our readers. Since we don't have a big publishing house backing us up, those reviews are what tell new readers that they can trust that our story is a good read and not a waste of their time. We will continue gifting books for review on Project ELE until we reach 50 reviews on Amazon. If you are interested in reading to review please message us on our Facebook page at: http://www.facebook.com/eleseries.

7. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book? 
Marya Heiman with Strong Image Editing (https://www.facebook.com/StrongImageEditing) is our cover designing genius. She's made all of our book covers. This one specifically was made from scratch with only a model photo in a plain white background to start with. We told her what we wanted to see and what Willow looked like and she made it happen. We actually have a pretty cool blog post on our page if anyone is interested in seeing the process we went through when we designed our book covers. It starts with the original photo and goes through all of our cover takes that we didn't choose. http://nightmarchersseries.blogspot.com/2012/06/creating-our-book-cover-for-project-ele.html

8. Which is your favourite cover of all the books you have written?
Project ELE for sure! Mostly because it was made from scratch and wasn't a stock photo that already had the perfect background, etc.

9. Is there anything you would change about your book covers?
Well, our first book cover Night Marchers was a stock photo that we fell in love with. We still love it actually, the artist is very talented. We did make a few changes to it but in the end it stayed pretty true to the original photo. Unfortunately we've found two other books that released after us that used the same stock photo. None of them had the same tweaks ours did but still, it is kind of frustrating to see our cover on those blog posts that put two similar book covers next to each other and have you vote for your favorite version. (Not that we don't like the blog post, we just wish ours was more original and didn't have to show up there.) We are happy to see though, that our book cover wins the vote most of the time. We learned our lesson though since releasing our first book. In the future our book covers will always be unique like Project ELE.

10. Would you have different book covers for different countries?
That would be awesome. I am so intrigued by what type of covers sell better in other countries. I love reading those blog posts where you see your favorite books with all of their different covers.

11. How did you come up with the title for your book?
Actually Rebecca's husband mentioned ELE upon hearing about our premise for the book. After that, we played with it and came up with the ELE Series and then Project ELE for the first book title. We originally were thinking about naming our book Chameleon but there are a few other books with the same name.

12. Is there anything you would change about your book? And why?
We thought about this, but we don't think there is anything we would change. We changed enough of it throughout the writing process that we are really happy with where it went. We did find a few small errors in it, but other than that we are very happy. We were excited about having this book professionally edited. Editing is priceless.

13. Do you have a book trailer? And what are your thoughts on book trailers?
Yes! We love to watch book trailers and we find that a book trailer can sometimes make the difference when you are making a decision to purchase a book or not. We actually have made our own book trailers for each book. Courtney is amazing at making them and has even been asked by other authors to help make their book trailers.

14. What is your opinion on ARCs?
We love ARC's. It's a great way to get feedback before releasing a book and a great way to accumulate reviews that help encourage others to purchase your book.

15. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
We like any kind of book! (Although, I haven't really gotten too much into audio books.) We usually read e-books from Indie authors and then get paperbacks or hardcovers from mainstream published authors. (Since a lot of mainstream published e-books are close to the print cost, we might as well get a regular copy.)

16. Are you a self-published / Indie author?
Yes, and loving it! :)

17. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it?
Don't make fun of us. We have both read the Twilight series a few times. We are Twi-fans and have even done a Forks pilgrimage and stocked the Vancouver sets of Breaking Dawn last year.

18. Have you ever bought a specific edition of a book because of it’s cover? (For example a UK, US or Canadian version)
We have only purchased US editions but this is a unique idea. We never thought about looking at all of the different versions to find our favorite.

19. Have you ever read a book just based on it’s cover?
All the time! If we don't like the cover, we rarely will invest our time in reading the book.

20. Has the quality of the cover of a book ever put you off of reading it?
Definitely. We can think of a few that we really wish we could hook up with Marya with Strong Image Editing so they can have a better chance with selling their books. Book covers can make or break you as an author.

21. What is your favourite film based on a book?
The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Not our usual genre of reading, but amazingly done!

22. What is your favourite book genre at the moment?
YA of course, anything Paranormal.

23. What books have made it onto your wishlist recently? And why?
Die For Me by Amy Plum, Glimmerglass by Jenna Black, Paranormalcy by Kiersten White, Downpour by Madison Daniel and Wake by Amanda Hocking.

24. What book are you reading at the moment? And in what format?
Courtney: Purgatory Reign by LM Preston (ARC) 
Rebecca: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

25. If you could invite any four celebrities (alive or dead) to your dinner party, who would you invite and why?
The cast of Friends because they are hilarious and would be the life of the party! Crud, if we only had to choose four of them then: Joey, Rachel, Monica and Chandler. (Yes, we know we just put their stage names, but hey, that's how we refer to them). We've watched all of the episodes a zillion times. *Excuse our exaggeration. ;)

26. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
Follow your dreams, write well and edit well. Seek advice, take constructive feedback to heart and don't give up.

27. Do you have any hobbies that aren’t related to reading & writing?
Rebecca- traveling and painting.
Courtney- Sewing and crafting.

28. Where can your readers follow you?


Facebook page:

Goodreads author page:

Twitter:
Rebecca: @MidnightBECKIE
Courtney: @nuckelsc






Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!