Tuesday, 31 July 2012

Author Interview: Katie McGarry

Katie McGarry has written Pushing The Limits.

1. What is your name and where do you call home?
I’m Katie McGarry and I live in Louisville, Kentucky in the United States.

2. Do you have a pen name? 
Nope.

3. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?
Pushing the Limits is the name of my debut novel. Two teens work together to discover the secrets in their files but neither foresaw the consequences of falling in love.

4. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Dare You To will be released in 2013. This book will continue the series by following the journey of Beth, a secondary character from Pushing the Limits. This is a story that has a very special place in my heart.

5. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing? 
When I was a sophomore in high school, my English teacher told me she thought I was a talented writer. I had never thought about writing as a career before that. It took me several years to find the courage to write a novel, but her words were always in the back of my mind encouraging me.

6. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book? 
My publisher created my cover. I have seen the covers for the U.S. and the U.K. They are completely different, but both of them are absolutely gorgeous and represent the book so well. I’m not sure which one is my favorite.

7. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it?
I have two: The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton and The Stand by Stephen King. I’ve read The Outsiders so much I have the first page memorized.

8. Have you ever read a book just based on it’s cover?
I shamefully admit, yes. I bought Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles because I fell in love with the cover. Unwind by Neal Shusterman also grabbed my attention solely based on the cover.

9. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
To never give up. Unfortunately, rejection is a part of the writing process. Remember—each no is one answer closer to a yes.

10. Where can your readers follow you?
Readers can follow me at my website: www.katielmcgarry.com, on twitter @katiemcgarry, and become a fan on Facebook or Goodreads. I also blog every couple of weeks at www.yafusion.com.


Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Promotion: Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry

Pushing The Limits 
by Katie McGarry


So wrong for each other...and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.



Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Thursday, 26 July 2012

Author Interview: Samantha Summers

Samantha Summers has written Firstlight, the first book in the Project Five Fifteen series.

1. What is your name and where do you call home?
Sam Summers, currently my home is in Sydney, Australia, but underneath the tan I'm a London girl.

2. Do you have a pen name?
No. It crossed my mind, but no.

3. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?
First Light. It's about assassins, but more than that, it's about two very opposite teenagers helping each other through their darkest times.

4. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Yes, First Light is part of the Project Five Fifteen series. The second, As You Were, is nearly ready :)

5. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing?
Since I can remember I've loved writing, but it wasn't until I lost someone very close to me when I was seventeen that I realised just how much I loved it. I kept a (very secret) diary where I wrote down – among other things – my ideas on what I would write a book about one day. It took ten years for me to be brave enough to go for it.

6. Do you gift books to readers for book reviews?
Yes :) I love hearing what people think of my story, my characters and my writing. That in itself is a gift to me!

7. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book?
I'm a graphic designer as well as a writer. So that would be me!

8. Which is your favourite cover of all the books you have written?
I had a lot of covers mocked-up for First Light before I decided on this one – it's in my top three. 

9. Is there anything you would change about your book covers?
So far I'm happy with it. I change my mind all the time though… about everything.

10. Would you have different book covers for different countries?
Probably not if I could help it. 

11. How did you come up with the title for your book?
Because the boys in my books have been trained military style, I wanted each book title to have some links to that. First Light rang true for me, because not only is it a term they would use in the army, but it marks the moment where Kalen's life begins to change. 

12. Is there anything you would change about your book? And why?
I could have changed little things endlessly, but that's just what I'm like with everything. You get to a point where you have to make a call. My editor helped a lot with that. External perspective is great! Right now, I'm happy with it and where it takes the story.

13. Do you have a book trailer? And what are your thoughts on book trailers?
Yep I have one. I think if done right, they are great. They can be fantastic at stirring the emotion you want people to feel in a very short amount of time.



14. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
I like my kindle. Like. I LOVE paperbacks. Love the feel of one in my hands, love the smell – everything! Not a fan of hardcovers, they are just too clunky and I have never listened to an audiobook so not sure on that one.

15. Are you a self-published / Indie author?
Yes. I am very impatient.

16. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it?
Many! The book I've read the most though is The Beach, by Alex Garland. I must have read it about five times. It's amazing.

17. Have you ever bought a specific edition of a book because of it’s cover? (For example a UK, US or Canadian version)
Harry Potter. I have the newest cover designs, which drew me to them instantly in-store. They are great.

18. Have you ever read a book just based on it’s cover?
Shameful to say, but yes. I was quite young at the time and I wouldn't do it again, some of the best books have very average covers. 

19. Has the quality of the cover of a book ever put you off of reading it?
I hope not.

20. What book are you reading at the moment? And in what format?
Linger by Maggie Stiefvater in eBook format. I love her writing, it's beautiful.

21. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
Best advice I was given was, 'If you want to be a writer – write.' I know it sounds like a no brainer, but the truth is, we can spend an eternity dreaming about something we want to do and never actually doing it. Once you start writing, if it's meant for you, it will feel as natural as breathing. Do it every day, even if it's just for half an hour, write whatever you feel. At some point the story you were meant to tell will come together. I'm not saying this is the key to success, but for me it's about doing what makes me happy.

22. Where can your readers follow you?




Twitter: @5fifteen




Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Promotion: First Light by Samantha Summers

First Light
By Samantha Summers

First Light is the first book in the Project Five Fifteen series.


What do you do when you've always dreamed of a hero; your knight in shining armour, only to find when he arrives he isn't a hero at all? ... He's a killer. 

Ronnie Rose is trying to cope with the loss of her father; now it looks like she might lose everything else that's dear to her too. Huge debts threaten to destroy her family, her childhood home and her future. Only one person cuts through her pain. Kalen Smith has just moved to town. He's trouble and everyone knows it. He and his mysterious friends keep to themselves and the town likes it that way. But when Kalen mourns at her dad's funeral, Ronnie wants to know why and her investigation plunges her into a dangerous world of murky government secrets, with deadly consequences. Ronnie knows she should walk away from Kalen before it's too late. Problem is, she's falling for him... 

Can we choose who we fall in love with?



Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Cover Reveal: Beyond by Mary Ting

Beyond is the third book in the Crossroads Saga and will be released on the 9th of December 2012.


Torn between the past she can't remember and a future she isn’t ready for, Claudia feels at a loss. With unanswered questions, she is certain there is more to her past than just being a venator. Finding the missing pieces in her life won’t be easy because duty calls. When mysterious dark shadows get released, an apocalypse sets in motion. The venators and the alkins must work together once again. Knowing Claudia would be the key to destroying the demons that were released, a familiar stranger appears to protect her. Drawn to the beautiful angel, Claudia finds she must unravel the mysteries of her past in order to help save the world. Who is the angel assisting her and why does she feel a strong connection to him? Time is running out. Will she discover all the secrets before it’s too late? 

My Opinion:
I love the cover of Beyond! The vivid colours of the scenery combined with the beautiful watermark of the angels wings, give this cover a seamless, youthful look that would definitely persuade me to pick this book up in my local bookstore! I also really like how Claudia and the angel wings have been subtly integrated into each book of the Crossroads Saga so far.

Check out some of Mary Ting's other work here!

Wednesday, 25 July 2012

Through My Letterbox! 25/07/12


What came Through My Letterbox this week:

Myself and my mum received a copy of Genus by Jonathan Trigell for review from Corsair, an imprint of Constable & Robinson.

We also received an unexpected ARC copy of Chanel Bonfire by Wendy Lawless, for review from Gallery Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster. As soon as Chanel Bonfire arrived I began reading it, which is probably why this post is a little later than usual! I just couldn't put it down until I had finished it!

On the 17th, myself and my mum went to The Works and bought Undead And Unfinished by MaryJanice Davidson (the ninth book in the Undead series), The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown and The Last Thing I Remember by Andrew Klavan.

Myself and my mum received an ARC copy of Foretold by Jana Oliver, which is the last book in The Demon Trappers series. My mum, (from JeanzBookReadNReview), started reading Foretold as soon as it arrived, and her review will appear on JeanzBookReadNReview on August the 8th.


For my mum's birthday, Nat Cleary kindly sent my mum Shift by Em Bailey!


Finally, myself and my mum received a copy of Firstlight, the first book in the Project Five Fifteen, for review from the author herself, Samantha Summers!

Tuesday, 24 July 2012

Promotion: Circle Of Silence by Carol M. Tanzman

Circle Of Silence 
By Carol M. Tanzman

The biggest story
of my life
could be how it ends.


It’s my turn to run a Campus News crew, and I’ve put together a team that can break stories wide open. And Washington Irving High has a truly great one to cover, if only we can find a lead.

A secret society has formed in our school. It announced its presence with pranks: underwear on the flag pole, a toilet in the hallway, cryptic notes. A circle of silence keeps the society a mystery. No one knows its members, agenda, or initiation secrets—until a student lands in the hospital under strange circumstances.

I will blow this story wide open and stop others from being hurt…or worse. And while my ex, Jagger, might want to help, I don’t trust him yet. (And, no, not because of our past together. That is not important to this story.)

But whether you find me, Valerie Gaines, reporting in front of the camera, or a victim in the top story of the newscast…be sure to watch Campus News at 9:00 a.m. this Friday morning.



Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Sunday, 22 July 2012

Promotion: Girl Of Nightmares by Kendare Blake

Girl Of Nightmares
By Kendare Blake

Girl Of Nightmares is the second book in the Anna series.


It's been months since the ghost of Anna Korlov opened a door to Hell in her basement and disappeared into it, but ghost-hunter Cas Lowood can't move on. 
His friends remind him that Anna sacrificed herself so that Cas could live--not walk around half dead. He knows they're right, but in Cas's eyes, no living girl he meets can compare to the dead girl he fell in love with.
Now he's seeing Anna everywhere: sometimes when he's asleep and sometimes in waking nightmares. But something is very wrong...these aren't just daydreams. Anna seems tortured, torn apart in new and ever more gruesome ways every time she appears.
Cas doesn't know what happened to Anna when she disappeared into Hell, but he knows she doesn't deserve whatever is happening to her now. Anna saved Cas more than once, and it's time for him to return the favour.



Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Saturday, 21 July 2012

Promotion: Alice In Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Alice In Wonderland
By Gena Showalter


Off with their heads.


She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….



Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Friday, 20 July 2012

Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

ISBN: 9781606842676
Publisher: Egmont
Pages: 336

Every other day, Kali D'Angelo is a normal sixteen-year-old girl. She goes to public high school. She attends pep rallies. She's human.

And then every day in between . . .She's something else entirely.

Though she still looks like herself, every twenty-four hours predatory instincts take over and Kali becomes a feared demon-hunter with the undeniable urge to hunt, trap, and kill zombies, hellhounds, and other supernatural creatures. Kali has no idea why she is the way she is, but she gives in to instinct anyway. Even though the government considers it environmental terrorism.

When Kali notices a mark on the lower back of a popular girl at school, she knows instantly that the girl is marked for death by one of these creatures. Kali has twenty-four hours to save her and, unfortunately, she'll have to do it as a human. With the help of a few new friends, Kali takes a risk that her human body might not survive. . .and learns the secrets of her mysterious condition in the process.

I received Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes from Egmont for review via Netgalley, which I thoroughly enjoyed reading! My favourite characters were Kali and Skylar. I instantly warmed to Skylar because of her optimism. Kali was one of my favourite characters because of her determination and independence throughout all that she faced. Every Other Day was a mixture of X-Men, Jana Oliver’s Demon Trappers series and Kelley Armstrong’s Stolen. I loved reading about the supernatural creatures, especially the zombies! I really like the cover of Every Other Day! It’s rich, dark colours coupled with the egg timer, portray the mood of the book perfectly.

Available at Amazon.com & Amazon.co.uk.

Cover Reveal: Shift by Raine Thomas

Shift is the second book in the Firstborn trilogy and will be released on the 24th of August 2012.
Having the ability to shapeshift, Sophia is familiar with change. But even she feels the rising tension in her homeland.

A shadowy male and deadly beast reside in their midst. The births of the newest Kynzesti loom. Hostile Mercesti continue to hunt for the Elder Scroll, and a traumatized female is too afraid to use her abilities to stop them.

Topping off Sophia’s stress is Quincy, the male she’s convinced can’t stand her. She rues the loss of their friendship, but can’t figure out how to move past it. She’ll soon learn, however, that mending that rift bears more significance than she ever imagined.

The search for the Elder Scroll takes on unexpected urgency, and Sophia finds herself in a race across the mainland. To stop the Mercesti led by Eirik, she and her companions must get past their differences and unite against them. If they don’t, Eirik will acquire the immense power he seeks, and two of the beings Sophia loves most will die.



My Opinion:
Although I quite like this cover, I think it lacks something "wow". Something that would make it stand out on the shelf. It seems too simple, yet over-thought. Also, whilst it's still slightly inkeeping with Defy, (the first book in the Firstborn trilogy), I don't think that the cover of Shift is necessarily a perfect match. I would have liked to have seen a close-up (like on the cover of Defy), or even a more detailed version of the cover shown above, to add more depth and "magic" to the book jacket as well as the story inside. (Whilst reading a book I like to glance at the cover to see if it still fits the story, and if the meaning behind the cover image is revealed or changes). Having said all of the above, I would probably still buy this book from my local bookstore, as I really enjoyed Raine Thomas' writing style in all of her work that I have previously read!

Like the sound of Shift? Add it to your wishlist on Goodreads!
Check out some of Raine Thomas' other work here!

Thursday, 19 July 2012

Promotion: Rise Of Souls by Michelle Zink

Rise Of Souls
By Michelle Zink

Rise Of Souls is the third book in the prequel trilogy to Prophesy Of The Sisters.


The Gate to the mortal world is finally closed. Lia Milthorpe has settled with her husband on Altus, the land that bridges the gap between the Otherworlds and the physical one.

Samael's banishment has brought prosperity to the land, and no one is happier than Una Whelan. For the first time in centuries, those who live on the island--including Una and her suitor, Fenris--can do so in peace. Or so they thought.



Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Promotion: Mistress Of Souls by Michelle Zink

Mistress Of Souls
By Michelle Zink

Mistress Of Souls is the second book in the prequel trilogy to Prophesy Of The Sisters.

After the tragic events of Prophecy of the Sisters, Lia Milthorpe fled New York, leaving her twin behind. While Lia was in London, preparing for the battle ahead, Alice spent months isolated in Birchwood, her story of solitude untold. Until now. 

Alice Milthorpe is alone. Now that her sister Lia has left Birchwood, her brother dead, her family gone, there is no one to keep Alice from the Dark Room. She spends entire days and nights there, willing her spirit to travel to the Otherworlds where the Souls welcome her, where the demon Samael gives her the companionship she so desperately desires. 

Yet she does not belong in the Otherworlds. Whether she likes it or not, she belongs in the physical world, tethered to a role in the prophecy she does not want and a world she is not truly a part of. But when a chance encounter with James, her sister’s abandoned fiancĂ©, sparks a fragile friendship, Alice begins to think that she is not as alone as she thought - and that maybe there is a reason to anchor herself to the physical world after all.



Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Promotion: Whisper Of Souls by Michelle Zink

Whisper Of Souls
By Michelle Zink

Whisper Of Souls is the first book in the prequel trilogy to Prophesy Of The Sisters.


Before Prophecy of the Sisters, before Alice and Lia became pawns in the curse that turned sister against sister, the burden of the prophecy belonged to their mother, Adelaide. This is her story.

Adelaide Milthorpe is losing her grip on sanity. She is a Gate-a human portal to the Otherworlds, destined to bring forth Samael, the most powerful demon of all time, and his Lost Souls. Prowling the halls of Birchwood Manor, Adelaide is haunted by the whispers of the otherworldly Souls, who seek to use her for entry into the real world, where they would wreak havoc and rule beside their leader, Samael, in chaos. Their pleas plague her, torture her, tempt her. Samael calls to her, his promise of peace in the Otherworlds increasingly difficult to resist. And the stakes are high, for if Adelaide gives in to his urgings, her two daughters will inherit the same curse, forcing them to make the same impossible choice as they, too, are cast in the roles of Guardian and Gate.



Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Wednesday, 18 July 2012

Rachel's Reflections: Changing Covers


Lately, I have noticed a new trend starting among many authors & their books. Mary Ting, Ami Blackwelder, Amy Kathleen Ryan and Beth Revis are just a few examples of this new trend.

Whilst some of the new covers are quite pretty in their own right, I feel that they don’t suit the book within.


Take the Across The Universe series by Beth Revis as an example. Although the covers are quite modern and edgy, I don’t believe (having read Across The Universe & with A Million Suns on my TBR shelf), that the new covers totally fit the stories within. In my opinion the new covers are too clinical and impersonal, as they are based on the ship’s appearance rather than the characters within the book.



The Sky Chasers series by Amy Kathleen Ryan also seems to be getting new covers.


Again, as with the Across The Universe covers, the new cover of Glow seems to not only be quite impersonal, but also confusing (as looking at the cover I wouldn't have thought it was about space travel).


Not only mainstream authors are changing their covers, so are some Indie / Self published authors . . .



 . . . Such as, Mary Ting and Ami Blackwelder!



This probably wouldn’t be much of a problem for me (and other avid readers) if they were just another set of alternative covers, but unfortunately it is because, as of yet I haven’t seen or heard of the previous original (and much loved) covers being continued so that avid readers & collectors of books can have a matching set of books.

Different covers may seem quite trivial to some, as “it’s the content within that matters”, but it still hurts an avid reader (like myself) to see one of my favourite series of books in mismatched covers.

Which covers do you prefer? What do you think to the idea of mismatched covers being on your shelves?

Tuesday, 17 July 2012

Soul Fire by Kate Harrison

ISBN: 9781780620237
Publisher: Orion
Pages: 400

It’s getting hotter on the beach . . .

Alice Forster regularly talks with her dead sister, Meggie, in the virtual world of Soul Beach – an online paradise where dead teenagers are held in limbo.

Alice has learned that if she can solve the mystery of someone’s death in the real world, then that person is released from the Beach. Meggie needs Alice to solve her murder so she can be free, but as Alice is getting closer to discovering the murderer, the murderer is getting closer to Alice.

I received an ARC copy of Soul Fire by Kate Harrison from Orion for review, which I absolutely loved reading! As in Soul Beach, the previous book in the trilogy, my favourite character was Alice, because of her selflessness. In this book, Alice stubbornly continues to search for answers about her sister’s death to give Meggie the chance to escape the limbo of Soul Beach . . . even though that may mean that Alice could end up permanently joining her sister. I really enjoyed the change of scenery in Soul Fire, as it added to the story, whilst also still being inkeeping and believable! I love the cover of Soul Fire! It’s bold, beautiful colours alongside the simple, black silhouettes set the tone for the story within.

Available at Amazon.co.uk.

Monday, 16 July 2012

Author Interview: Daren Doucet

Daren Doucet has written The Supermarket Guy.

1. What is your name and where do you call home?
My name is Daren Doucet, and I reside in Petit Rocher Sud "South little Rock" ( possible translation?) near the beautiful Bay of Chaleur, in New Brunswick, Canada.

2. Do you have a pen name?
I was thinking about a Pen Name, as allot of authors have done well with pen names. I actually thought my name was not a catchy "Authors name". We see this done in the music industry at times.

3. What is the name of your most recent book and if you had to sum it up in 20 or less words, what would you say?
My most recent humor book, "The Supermarket Guy II: Rise of the Market Overlord", is all about a struggling company mired in red ink and trying to survive in a hostile competitive market.

4. Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?
Yes, "The Supermarket Guy III:  Supermarket Dominium", and it will not complete the series.

5. What or who inspired you to start writing? And how long have you been writing?
I was walking through the Supermarket one day, and I could feel a lot of funny things going on here. Also, I remember my grade 9 class laughing at my humor during short essays we had to prepare in front of class. I said I would give it a try.

6. Do you gift books to readers for book reviews?
This is something new to me. I am learning every day, and in the last while I realized how important it is to have a contest every so often. Getting off of the point somewhat, but I did give a book away, paid air mail, for a review in England.

7. How did you come up with the cover? Who designed the cover of your book?
I designed the cover of Part 1, 2, and probably 3. Just that the design team at Dog Ear was unsure of how the main character was going to fly through the air, then I realized my rusty artwork may come in handy. Luckily enough, everyone seemed to like the cover work.

8. Which is your favourite cover of all the books you have written?
Would have to say Part 2. This is because of the intensity of it. Realizing now, I could have done more to Part 1. I love how the color changes in the wording, from hot to warm, which suggests an ensuing battle or a tough challenge at hand. The eyes in the clouds suggest someone losing control of his cool, and maybe going a little too far...

9. Is there anything you would change about your book covers?
Was wondering why not put a football in the cart, on the cover of Part 1. As, football was a big reason for the climax of the book.

10. Would you have different book covers for different countries?
I was unsure of this concept, but I did think about it. Maybe putting different flag on the Supermarket on Part 1, depending where it was sold. At the moment, this was on the back burner. It needed to be international, no flags on the market for now.

11. How did you come up with the title for your book?
The main character is a sort of "super" hero. He is your regular guy or gal that lives up the road, that is so very good at what they do. Every community, business, or team has someone who has extraordinary human talent. I think of it at times as a "super" talent. I believe everybody is good at something, we just have to find what that is. That is how "The Supermarket Guy" came about, as it made a good link to the incredible athletic ability of the main character.

12. Is there anything you would change about your book? And why?
Reading through the book (s) at times, there are some scenes which I could have perhaps expanded on. Added humor too. There comes a point, when the decision comes to say it had to go that way, and that is all we as authors can really do. Truly mostly satisfied on the way it carried through, and to go back in time, maybe change 5 % of each book. Not really a big enough number to go back, personally.

13. Do you have a book trailer? And what are your thoughts on book trailers?
Very confident that book trailers are great for authors to expose their works. It gives the public a good window into the storyline. Currently a book trailer does not exist for my book, but was unsure on whether to do a parody on the writing of it, or just give a scene towards it. The more tools a reader has to gauge your book, is always good news. Being new to the book business of marketing, I have been a slow mover towards it.

14. Do you prefer e-books, paperbacks, hardcovers or audiobooks?
It is hard not to like the smell of a fresh, brand new, book. When you flip the pages, that scent of heavenly paper just roars right out at you. Likewise, I understand how someone would love the versatility of being able to read their book digitally, and be able to access it instantly. With audio books, the uncertainty is there if the persons voice would be liked to the reader. Would the authors voice, help in these audio book sales? Maybe future sales of audio books may prove me wrong, but for now there are no plans for audio books to my series.

15. Are you a self-published / Indie author?
Yes, self published with Dog Ear Publishing in Indianapolis, Indiana who has done terrific work.

16. Have you ever read a book more than once? And if so what was it?
There was a book, called "Rise of the Empires" or of that nature, where I read the book again and again. This was in my teenage years, and I just loved the way that the history flowed from the middle east, Egypt, Rome, with all of the great battles of the modern era and empires to the present day. It needs to be resurfaced again, as I cannot find the title on Goodreads!

17. Have you ever bought a specific edition of a book because of it’s cover? (For example a UK, US or Canadian version)
Never have, although this is a good idea. Perhaps it can have antiquarian value, over time. Especially if it is a rare edition.

18. Have you ever read a book just based on it’s cover?
Yes, picking up a book a year ago, it had a magnificent cover.

19. Has the quality of the cover of a book ever put you off of reading it?
Unfortunately, it has. True enough, but lately I have been learning that you "don't judge a book by its cover ", as the old saying goes.

20. What book are you reading at the moment? And in what format?
With work, family affairs, my book scheduled reading has taken a miss. This Friday, I intend to pick up two books. A friends print on demand, and maybe a recent best seller. Just as of late, shift work and some family affairs have once again led me to deviate a bit from my reading schedule. Also, my own book work, creating Part IV of "The Supermarket Guy" carries me away from the shelves at times. But most certainly, this Friday I want to get back into the pages and submerge into another world.

21. Do you have any advice for other writers? And what’s the best advice that you have been given when it comes to writing?
Advice for writers. I believe patience, in realizing how slow sometimes the book business turns for many of us. Focus on your target audience, and appeal to them.  The strongest advice, was to listen to the comments of family and friends. They truly know if your book is good, or not.

22. Where can your readers follow you?
My readers can follow me on http://supermarketguy.blogspot.ca/ which is a link to e blogger, or just Daren Doucet on Twitter, and of course, the always inspiring Goodreads. Not to forget, my website on wordpress is there too, which provides links and samples to my work at www.supermarketguy.com.  I want to thank you for this opportunity to answer some questions with you, and your followers, Rachel. Once again, much thanks!

Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this interview and allowing us a glimpse into your writing world!

Sunday, 15 July 2012

Promotion: The Flower Bowl Spell by Olivia J. Boler

The Flower Bowl Spell
By Olivia Boler


Journalist Memphis Zhang isn’t ashamed of her Wiccan upbringing—in fact, she’s proud to be one of a few Chinese American witches in San Francisco, and maybe the world. Unlike the well-meaning but basically powerless Wiccans in her disbanded coven, Memphis can see fairies, read auras, and cast spells that actually work—even though she concocts them with ingredients like Nutella and antiperspirant. Yet after a friend she tries to protect is brutally killed, Memphis, full of guilt, abandons magick to lead a “normal” life. The appearance, however, of her dead friend’s sexy rock star brother—as well as a fairy in a subway tunnel—suggest that magick is not done with her. Reluctantly, Memphis finds herself dragged back into the world of urban magick, trying to stop a power-hungry witch from using the dangerous Flower Bowl Spell and killing the people Memphis loves—and maybe even Memphis herself.


Available at Amazon.co.uk.